Almond Meringue Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 Apr

These are some cookies I’ve been experimenting with for some time now. Tried a variety and liked this combination the best it had a smooth mellow flavor with the almond with a little sweet from the chocolate. They are crisp on the outside and if you pile it high enough chewy and pillowy in the middle.
I’ll let you know all combinations I’ve tried at the end. It’s pretty simple.

Ingredients:
4 egg whites or 2/3 cup liquid egg whites
1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
1 tsp. almond extract
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 C. Splenda
1/4 C. Semi sweet chocolate chips (optional) still tastes good without

In my kitchenaid mixer I combined egg whites, extract and cream of tartar whip at highest setting until soft clouds form. You can pull beater up and whites will lift with it but then relax a bit. On slower speed gradually add in sweetener, increase speed and beat until glossy but stiff peaks form.
This is where I get fancy and load up my frosting bag and using my largest star tip pipe out thick, tall piles of white cream in rows on a foil lined cookie sheet. Pile it as high as you like it will only taste better for it.
Then I insert a few chocolate chips into each cookie, easing them in at the side of each one. You only need three or four per cookie.
Put in oven that’s been preheated to 250 degrees, bake 30 minutes. Turn oven off but leave cookies in there without opening the door for an hour.
Serve along side your favorite herbal tea or store in air tight container for few days.
I also tried adding in different flavors of sugar free jello mixes instead of extract my favorite was 1 small box of strawberry jello you just add it at the same time you add sugar. It was a combination of sweet and sour. You add chocolate chips just the same.
I also tried doing a chocolate one. Did everything the same as instructed above but folded in 3 Tbsp. chocolate powder at the end, have to be careful not to over mix otherwise it deflates meringue because of the fats in it.
I would also like to try trading out the extract flavors for either 2 tsp. lemon extract or 2 tsp. orange extract or 2 tsp. coconut extract. I’ll have to try those out next.

20130403-215957.jpg

20130404-101019.jpg

Leave a Reply

